Quote:
Originally Posted by MechanicGuy
The literature may be clear, but allowing for (or even requiring) two opposite fouls/calls for the same contact is patently absurd.
Disagreements, even opposing signals, happen often during a game, but this is really the only situation where the officials are unable to come together and decide the proper call.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
The fundamental principle is that neither official is permitted to overrule another official. Same contact, two judgement, apply both rulings. That is really the only fair result. Any discussion had is going to one official's opinion overriding the other no matter how you phrase the resolution.
|
Unless I'm missing something, there is a significant flaw in this answer.
If both officials only had a fist up, they may still have had different judgments on the same play, but in this case it is perfectly acceptable when one overrides the other?