View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 01, 2014, 03:38pm
rockyroad rockyroad is offline
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
It hit a person or object that was OOB.

NCAA 7-1-2
The ball shall be out of bounds when it touches a player who is out of bounds; any other person, the floor or any object on or outside a boundary;...


I would think that the coach would be considered to be OOB since she was standing OOB. If not, then you'd have a coach interfering with play while out of the coaches box and a T would be in order (it might be anyway, as you suggest, even if the coach was in the box, if it was anything more than accidental).

So, it would be a throwin violation because the ball went OOB before being touched by another player inbounds.
Yabut...

It didn't hit the coach who was standing oob. It hit the rolled up paper, which was over the playing surface, so it was inbounds. Seems to me that is the coach interfering..

Weird play. Something needed to be called. The violation would be the common sense call, but I just don't see it supported by the rule. Again - probably just me being thick.
Reply With Quote