View Single Post
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 29, 2014, 07:51pm
ronny mulkey ronny mulkey is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
NFHS R3-S4-A3D: Each team member shall be numbered on the front and back of the team jersey with plain Arabic numerals. The following numbers are legal: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 00, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55. A team member list shall not have both numbers 0 and 00.

NCAA Men's/Women's R1-S22-A7b(2): The following numbers are legal: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 00, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, and 55. Team rosters can include 0 or 00, but not both.


The Rule in both NFHS and NCAA is quite clear: A team's roster in the Scorebook can have a player listed wearing 0 or 00 but the team cannot have two players listed with one wearing 0 and the second player wearing 00.

What bothers me about the RULING for SITUATION 2(c) of the 2008-09 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations is that it contradicts what is stated in the rules.

MTD, Sr.
MTD,

I don't think a rule that states "shall not" or "cannot" actually means that you can't. I think when a rule states "shall not", "cannot", the official should go to the penalties section of the rule? Sometimes, the penalty states "the player/team member cannot participate". Sometimes, it states "if the player participates, the player is charged with a technical foul".

Even more confusing, the 2008/09 interpretation trumped an earlier interpretation in 2000/2001 on the same rule?
__________________
Mulk
Reply With Quote