Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
It says nowhere in the rule when I have to decide. It talks about the judgment of the official. Officials who are constantly putting people on the line for 2 shots when they are passing the ball are guilty of not having a patient whistle.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
And that is the key right there.
Peace
|
I'm not in a race to put a whistle on a play as soon as contact occurs. Seems like some officials are in a rush to judge a play while it's still developing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000-01 NFHS ruling
SITUATION 3: A1 is in the act of shooting and is fouled by B1. The contact by B1 throws A1 off balance and in an effort to make a play A1 passes off to teammate A2 instead of proceeding through with an off-balance shot. The official rules that the pass-off by A1 is not a factor as it was not the original intent and only the result of the contact by B1. RULING: A1 is awarded two free throws for the foul committed by B1. COMMENT: Provided the official deems that A1 was in the act of shooting when fouled (the player had begun the motion which habitually precedes the release of the ball for a try), the subsequent pass-off is ignored. (4-40-3; 4-40-1; Summary of Penalties #5)
|
And this 13 year old interp says nothng about raising the ball. It does talk about what an official "deems" is a shot. I prefer to process all the information in making that determination.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Last edited by Raymond; Wed Mar 26, 2014 at 08:16am.
|