Thread: Moving the bat
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 24, 2014, 09:27am
Manny A Manny A is offline
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Does the ODB's discarded bat(s) become part of the field? I.E. She drops the bat in the circle to move towards HP to direct a runner.

If a thrown ball hits that bat or a fielder trips on that bat while retrieving a loose ball, does it warrant a blocked ball and/or interference call?

Thanx.
From the NCAA book:

"9.8 Equipment Blocked Ball
9.8.1 No loose equipment (that is, gloves/mitts, hats, helmets, jackets, balls, on-deck batter’s bats), miscellaneous items, or detached parts of a player’s uniform, other than that being legally used in the game at the time, should be within playable territory as it could cause a blocked ball. Official equipment that may be within playable territory with no effect includes the batter’s bat, the catcher’s mask or helmet, umpire paraphernalia, and any helmet that has inadvertently fallen off the head of an offensive or defensive player during the course of play."

So, at least in NCAA play, an ODB's warm-up bat lying in the circle is specifically listed as loose equipment and may be liable for a blocked ball call.

As for ASA, Rule Supplement #17 specifically states what is not considered loose equipment:

"Official equipment which may be in live ball territory with no penalty includes the batter's bat, the catcher's mask, umpire paraphernalia, a helmet which has inadvertently fallen off an offensive or defensive player during play or any equipment belonging to a person assigned to the game."

It could be inferred from that statement that the ODB's warm-up bat is considered loose equipment, since it's not listed as official equipment, unless the vagueness of "any equipment belonging to a person assigned to the game" allows for that interpretation. Frankly, I have no idea what that last clause means.

NFHS is even more vague. 1-8-3 only mentions the batter's discarded bat and the catcher's helmet/mask as examples of equipment not considered loose.

Bottom line: I would considered a warm-up bat on the ground as loose equipment in FED and ASA play. The ODB should be able to hang on to it during the course of play.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote