Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump
That was my understanding. But if so, everybody should be calling this a missed call, the player who went out of bounds was inbounds before the pass was released. So what gives?
[Posted this before I saw Camron's answer.] Camron, thanks, that's exactly what my confusion was. Even if he'd been inbounds for 33 seconds and took the direct pass still out of bounds?
|
I think there is some grey area between the words of the rule and how it is intended. If the player ran around inbounds for 25 seconds after returning from OOB while his teammate held the ball the entire time, I don't believe it is the intent of the rule to call a violation. It is mostly meant to keep a player from getting a direct advantage by going OOB on purpose and returning to immediately receive the ball while the defense is trying to catch up with the player.