View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 19, 2014, 02:13pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocentsworth View Post
This play is officiated differently using NFHS and NCAA-M rules. When a player voluntarily goes/runs out of bounds:

NFHS = violation is called immediately when the act occurs.
NCAA-M = violation is called when/if player in question is the first person to touch the ball after re-establishing his position inbounds.
And this is where the confusion comes in. The actual first person to thouch the ball after he returned was the passer. What they really mean by that rule is that the player is the next person to receive the ball after returning inbounds. If the pass had gone elsewhere, then to him, it would have been legal.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote