How did the clock erroneously expire? 5-10 states the referee may correct an OBVIOUS MISTAKE by the timer to start or stop the clock properly only when he/she has definite information relative to the time involved. The exact time may be placed on the clock.
Ok, I can hear you saying EXACTLY, he/she had definite knowledge. Then how do you justify this in 5-6 which keeps language in exception 3: "If a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped before time expires or after time expires but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal."
The act of shooting began in the OP but didn't end with the foul. It ended when time expired and the ball was still in his hands. The foul at .1 did not end the try. So, what rule are you using to justify putting the .1 back up and counting the basket?
|