View Single Post
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 16, 2014, 04:07pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Grasping At Straws ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This decision results in the call, which is subsequently reported to the table. A whistle or a signal is neither a ruling nor a call.
So when you signal a travel violation, that's not ruling (decision) until you "report to the table"? My IAABO mechanics manual (not sure abut NFHS mechanics) doesn't even require us to verbalize "traveling", so I guess that we never make a real ruling (decision).

The whistle is a ruling (decision), a ruling (decision) to stop the clock, especially when accompanied by a fist, open hand, or thumbs up, signal.

When I sound my whistle, put up a fist, and then put a hand behind my head, I've ruled (decided) that player control foul has just occurred. It's as simple as that. I can later change my ruling (decision) for some reason, but at that point, that's my ruling (decision).

I'm more than willing to follow a thoughtful train of ideas from you on this interesting issue, but you're grasping at straws here.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Mar 16, 2014 at 04:13pm.
Reply With Quote