It is interesting getting everyone's opinions on this. When I posted this, I was thinking that I'd call this an illegal forward pass. I believe the spirit of the passing rule is that Team A MUST make a good faith attempt to throw the pass to an eligible receiver. There is nothing in the rules that states a team must make a good faith attempt to actually catch the ball.
In this case, I don't think A7 is making a good faith attempt to throw the pass to an eligible.
I'm getting more confused on how I would rule with every post I read.
How about this. We rule forward progress was stopped and don't have any flags