Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
While an arm bar is illegal, I don't think the OP is an arm bar -- it's a collapsed arm (at least in my mind's eye).
|
If it is collapsed, or only used as a cushion, that is, neither extended nor horizontal, 4-24-3 applies.
4-24-5 and 6 are the citations that refer to what we usually consider an armbar.
[QUOTE=bob jenkins;926802] "If the defense is displaced, then it's a foul on the offense. If the defense gives way, then it's legal. Deciding which is which is wny we get paid the big bucks."
This is the essence of an official's judgement in such situations.