Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
To me, a blarge is nothing more than a double foul, except called by 2 different officials, rather than one.
|
I'm new here and without nearly the experience of many of the posters, so take that into consideration, but I think MTD's point is that a blarge is NOT a double fou. A double foul is 2 players can simultaneously (or nearly so) making illegal contact to each other. A blarge, however, is a single contact RULED differently by 2 different officials. Either a block occurred; or a PC foul occurred. Not both. One needs to be called. Not both. If a blarge were a "double foul," it COULD be called by one official.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
I've only been involved in the one blarge call, and it didn't involve a collision. Dual-coverage area between L & T, T (me) calls a PC for A1 extending arm and pushing off, L calls block for B1 contacting A1 with a knee outside of his normal stance.
|
That IS a double foul. NOT a blarge. (I think)