View Single Post
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 11, 2014, 05:26pm
Toren Toren is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 736
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
The way an NCAA-W official explained it to me:

If it's a blocking foul regardless of being in the RA or not, there's no pointing to the RA

If it's a blocking foul solely because the defender is in the RA (as in the defender, absent of the RA, would have obtained LGP), you point to the RA. This tells everyone the play is a RA blocking foul and also gives your partners an opportunity to give any additional information if needed (as in hey the player originated in the LDB so the RA shouldn't come into play...or the defender was outside the RA).

So on this play, I don't think the the point was technically necessary as the defender was late anyway.

FYI, the mechanics above are the NBA mechanics for RA plays.

So now I wonder if she would have ruled PC if it had been outside the RA?
Reply With Quote