REPLY: Mike, In Federation, I don't really think there's any other ruling than a legal incomplete pass. Remember that the requirement is that the pass must not be "...intentionally thrown into an area not occupied by an eligible offensive receiver." Since the receiver was there (whether or not he was expecting the pass) I believe it's legal.
The NCAA rule is worded a little differently. It infers that to be legal, an eligible must have a "...reasonable opportunity to catch the pass." It also goes on to say that when in question, you are to rule that he did have reasonable opportunity. I've always interpreted "reasonable opportunity to catch the pass" as a function of distance from it as opposed to his awareness of the pass. In which case, I'd rule the play legal in an NCAA game as well. The ARs use the phrase "reasonable opportunity" exclusively in their case plays without any explanation of what exactly they mean by it, so If there is an interpretation to the contrary, maybe Mr. Heisey can set us straight. Also, be aware that if the QB is 5 or more yards closer to the sideline than the position of the ball at the snap, he can "dump" it by just making sure that the pass crosses the NZ.
I'm assuming that in your play, A32's block was behind the NZ so that the question of OPI is not significant.
__________________
Bob M.
|