View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 08, 2014, 05:49pm
Rich's Avatar
Rich Rich is offline
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetMetFan View Post
I believe I have the answer from the NCAAW side of things based on a in-season video we received last year. The jump stop turns the move into two separate acts. The first is before the player lands and the second is when they start to rise again. By definition if you stop your motion can't be continuous. In the case of a layup it's (usually) all one move.

I'm going to go out on a limb and say the rule would be the same in NFHS.
That's exactly how I see it. If someone can find a case that says something else, I'm all ears. But I've always called a foul on a jump stop (coming down) like this.
Reply With Quote