Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
How is it different, by rule, from a layup where we consider continuation from the "gather"?
|
I believe I have the answer from the NCAAW side of things based on a in-season video we received last year. The jump stop turns the move into two separate acts. The first is before the player lands and the second is when they start to rise again. By definition if you stop your motion can't be continuous. In the case of a layup it's (usually) all one move.
I'm going to go out on a limb and say the rule would be the same in NFHS.
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|