View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2014, 08:43am
youngump youngump is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
In this scenario, R2 was never really affected by the obstruction, so she wouldn't get any base award here. She ran to third as runners are taught when a teammate gets into a rundown between third and home. The fact that R1 made it back to third safely puts R2 at risk, and she's going to be out on the tag unless the umpire judges R1 should be awarded home due to the obstruction.
If you're going to take that line of reasoning, then don't you have to hold it the same way when R1 is going to be awarded home? R2 still wasn't affected by the obstruction. Or are you saying that by not letting R1 get home, R2 was affected? If you're saying that, then why can't R2 be affected simply by the run down being longer. Not saying that's this play necessarily (obviously there's not enough in the question to know), but consider that R1 gets knocked down on the way back to third and would have been tagged there. Since she got knocked down she doesn't make it to the tag and scrambles the other way. The run down now continues and R2 and R1 slide into third. The obstruction definitely affected R2 in this play.
Reply With Quote