Thread: 2-30
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 23, 2014, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Not really a problem, given the bolded red. Yes, the ASA definition makes it simpler, but the definition does not justify the wrong opinion described in the OP.
But it is not wrong. Based upon NFHS rule and the fact the OP clearly stated the ball would be caught be an outfielder, IF is not the proper call.

Hey, it's their wording, not mine.

Q: Does the ASA definition exclude the "battery"?
I know you have an ASA book Actually, when they defined Infielders it required an adjustment to the IF rule to include pitchers and catchers.
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote