Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
... the case plays in all rule sets clearly state that it's not a violation to throw the ball against one's own backboard (some of which then go on to say the thrower catches the ball).
|
Many of us, including me, understand the caseplay, but question the actual rules backing for such a caseplay interpretation. Without the caseplay, I would call this, unless they were airborne the entire time, traveling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
The issue, as Adam has stated, is whether it matters that the ball, when thrown off one's own backboard, comes back and is touched or caught by the thrower who is either still in contact with the floor or not.
|
Can that player, after catching their own legal (made legal by the throw against his own backboard, according to the caseplay) "self pass" (in quotes, because, according to rule, there is no such thing), start a dribble after landing, as they would legally be able to do if it was a try? I would call this an illegal dribble with, or without, the caseplay.