View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 29, 2014, 01:02pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by westneat View Post
These interpretations actually do not address the question at hand. In situation 3, the interpretation says there is no 10 second count because 4 of those seconds were during the throw-in which doesn't count towards the 10. That's already covered in the rule book. It doesn't actually state whether the ten second count should start when the player gains control or when the ball strikes the floor in the backcourt.

The second interpretation applies to backcourt violations, and it does change the rule "as stated" in the book (the book says for backcourt that only team control is necessary in the front court, this interpretation says otherwise). However it doesn't do anything to help us when deciding to begin counting ten seconds.
Read number 5 again -- especially the last sentence:

The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt.

Situation 4 makes the same point.
Reply With Quote