View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 20, 2014, 05:02pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,371
Gets There First ...

A1 rebounds the ball while airborne. A1 falls to the floor while holding the ball, when he lands on B2 who had fallen to the floor. The official rules a traveling violation on A1. Is the official correct? Ruling: No, this is a blocking foul on B2. The mere fact that B2 has fallen on the floor, does not absolve him from committing a blocking foul. B2 is not in a legal guarding position. (4-23-1, 2 & 4; 10-6-1)

Found this interpretation (above) online. I recall that we've discussed this before on the Forum. I also recall that this ruling (above) was correct for NCAA games, and that several of us were undecided for NFHS games, with the discussion centering on "every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent".

I believe that the situation above hinges on the fact that B2 took away A1's landing spot.

New situation: What if a moving dribbler, or a player moving without the ball, simply trips over a fallen player who has gotten there first and who didn't take away a landing spot?

Comments please, on either situation, original, or new.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 20, 2014 at 05:05pm.
Reply With Quote