View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 01:31pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Bob M.
If you take a look at the Federation definitions of "catch", "player possession", and "pass" and can follow the thread, you can see that movement of the ball forward by A2 cannot be a forward pass because passing requires player possession which in turn requires that he has obtained control of a ball that was (a) snapped or handed to him [not!], or caught or recovered by him [again, not!]. So what is it? In the NCAA game that Mike and others referred to, the pass was controlled in the air by B1-not A1. He realized that if he held it, he would land OOB and not complete the interception. So he tossed it forward to teammate B2 who was standing in bounds. B2 caught it and was tackled shortly thereafter. I think it was a Big 12 crew of officials led by John Bible that (after some discussion) ruled it an illegal forward pass and awarded the ball to B at the spot where B1 controlled it minus the 5 yards for the penalty. The NCAA after the game said that the crew was mistaken. This should have been ruled a legal interception by B2. B1's control and subsequent toss should have been interpreted as nothing more than a bat of a forward pass in flight which is legal in NCAA (and also NFHS) code. However, if the Fed came up with the same interpretation, A2 would have effectively 'batted' a backward pass forward -- a foul! Since we're talking about the Federation here, I can't even venture a guess as to what they would say about this play.
Thanks for clarifying the play for me. So the NCAA called the "catch and throw" a "bat"?

That sure changes how I might interpret the play in question then and I think that is the question stripes1977 was asking.

Thanks for posting this. Now I am just confused.



__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote