View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 08:35am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally posted by Basebal1187
Even though he is standing on 2nd he is still out? Why wouldn't F6 have to throw the ball to third to get the force?
It is a common misconception that you need to touch the base on a force play. You may tag either the runner or the base. The rule is:

7.08 Any runner is out when_
e) He fails to reach the next base before a fielder tags him or the base, after he has been forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner. However, if a following runner is put out on a force play, the force is removed and the runner must be tagged to be put out. The force is removed as soon as the runner touches the base to which he is forced to advance, and if he overslides or overruns the base, the runner must be tagged to be put out. However, if the forced runner, after touching the next base, retreats for any reason towards the base he had last occupied, the force play is reinstated, and he can again be put out if the defense tags the base to which he is forced;
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote