Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Continuous motion applies to personal fouls committed by the defense. If you blew the whistle before he released the ball, then the ball is dead. He still has two FTs coming.
|
Agree, but let's go to the rule, which includes the word "player", an important point in this situation:
"... but it (continuous motion) has no significance unless there is a foul by any defensive
player during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight."
Of course, the coach is not a player, and he most certainly is not a player playing defense (didn't that cost Woody Hayes his job?).