Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
The inbounds player didn't contact the thrower-in, he is standing there motionless with his back turned.
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf
Why would you penalize the opponent for contact initiated by the thrower?
|
If they didn't contact the thrower, then this discussion is moot there is nothing to call either way.
The rule doesn't say cause contact, just that they contact. It don't matter who causes it, they make contact. It is a poorly written rule/interpretation that should have never been written. It simply should not be an intentional foul at all for in inbounds player to contact the thrower, either passively or actively, when the thrower reaches through the plane....but the rule says otherwise. It says if there is contact between the two, it is an intentional personal foul on the defender.
As Nevada said, there has been some very poor rule writing in recent years.