View Single Post
  #96 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2003, 01:45pm
mikesears mikesears is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
For my rule, I cite 4-23-3.
"4-23-3 After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard is NOT required to have either or both feet on the floor or continue facing the opponent.
b. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs."
As a former basketball official, I found this discussion very interesting. I think what is quoted above supports Tony's position. Just my two cents on this.

Mike,if the guard moves laterally or obliquely,but happens to be in the air when the shooter now initiates the contact with him/her,who are you gonna call the foul on? The guard?


I doubt I get back into calling basketball but this is what I envisioned in the original play.

A1 fakes a shot from the corner baseline. B1 bites on the fake and jumps out and towards A1. A1 takes a step in toward B1 and tries a jumpshot, B1 crashes into A1.

Foul on B1 in my opinion.

In your play, it's a tough call. Without answering your question , let me ask one (I honestly am swaying both ways with this one).

A1 takes a shot. B1 is somewhat out of position to get the rebound and jumps from the side of the basket to the middle of the basket. While B1 is airborn, A1 moves to the spot where B1 is going to land to pull down the rebound. B1 lands on A1. Who fouled?

Good question and good discussion.





__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote