Quote:
Originally posted by mikesears
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
For my rule, I cite 4-23-3.
"4-23-3 After the initial legal guarding position is obtained:
a. The guard is NOT required to have either or both feet on the floor or continue facing the opponent.
b. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs."
|
As a former basketball official, I found this discussion very interesting. I think what is quoted above supports Tony's position. Just my two cents on this.
|
At the end of the day, this is a jugment call. If the official was not refereeing the defense, he might not be completely aware of what happen and might only be guessing as to what the defender did. So all of us can quote all the rules, citations and wording, but the play might not be exactly as stated. If you have little or no judgment, it does not matter what the rulebook says if you are not refereeing the defense and watching solely the ball handler.
Peace