Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:
Originally posted by JeffTheRef
Are you telling me that if there are two players standing facing each other 6 feet apart and the ball is thrown between them and one leaps first, forward, to catch the ball, the other can run to the spot where the leaper will land, which was unoccupied at the moment he took off, and the foul is on the player in the air?
|
It's a no call.
|
Here a real-life situation, same idea. Offense throws
a lob pass which is short. Defender jumps (48" vertical)
to grab the ball high out of the air, slightly forward
and *out of his vertical plane*. When he jumps there is no
one in front of him where he would land. Just before grabbing the ball (several feet off the floor) an offensive player runs under him and through his legs sending him head over heels cracking his skull on the floor. The leaper never had the ball, so he is still on "defense" and according to the quoted rules has no right to a spot on the floor since he left his *vertical plane* and clearly doesn't have LGP.
No call or foul on the defense....right?
Or...the offensive player:
A) intitiated contact
and
B) gained an advantage,
so...