View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 05:15pm
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Steve, NCAA 15.9.2 does specifically mention that the "seek to reverse" prohibition applies to judgment decisions. The rulebook does not make mention if the same is true on a rule application. Perhaps that is covered in the CCA manual, I don't know.

Like Mike, I, too, have been told in clinics that I should have corrected a partner's erroneous rule application. I had a situation (in a FED game, not an ASA game) where F7 was running toward the foul line to catch a fly ball, and the ball deflected off her foot and went 90-degrees towards and over a DBT line (no fence). My PU partner awarded the batter third base on the play, informing the defensive coach that the award was two bases from when the ball hit the fielder's foot, and that the BR was past first base when that happened. The rule on a deflected batted ball is two bases from the pitch, so she should have only been awarded second, and I was told by clinic staff later when I described the play that I should have made the correction.
OK, let me restate.

In the video that started this routine (note: I only watched the abbreviated version), the offensive coaches appeared to walk off with no comment. There is no way the PU should initiate this conversation unasked, unchallenged; I don't care if ASA, NCAA or NFHS. In NCAA, refer to "crewness", if nothing else. He kicked the rule, move on and discuss later. Nothing tells us to jump in unasked; plenty tells us not to.

Now, if the offended coach challenges, steer him to the calling official. We are taught to linger in the vicinity anyway; if needed (and if calling official is hesitant or bolluxing a response), be obviously available to your partner as a resource. Baseball suggests a look, or a signal, that you have something pertinent to add; valid here, maybe, but still following the "stay out unless asked" rule. If partner is handling professionally, even if wrong, stay out of it.

Avoiding a protestable situation means not letting it get to the "I protest" stage, it doesn't mean insinuating yourself into your partner's decision unasked. The coaches have a purpose; it isn't sniping about every pitch, but they sure as he!! need to know when to insist on an explanation, and a crew discussion, or else filing a protest. If the coach does his job, we have our crew discussion in live time; if he (coach) accepts the (wrong) ruling, we go on and address later.

If any clinician suggested you step in unasked, I would question the credentials of that person; it simply cannot happen like that.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF