View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 06, 2014, 08:09am
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,951
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I would think that the spirit and intent of that rule would result in no timeout if the crew confirmed a mistake was made but didn't have any sort of definite count to make a correction. In this case, a correction can be made if an official has a count. Whether the team is charged a T or not shouldn't depend on whether an official had a count or not.
I agree, if it is acknowledged that a mistake occurred, but no definite knowledge of how much time should come off, then the team shouldn't be penalized. The coach met his burden of pointing a real timing mistake.

And I do have at least one supervisor who tells us we need to take off at least 0.4 if a player on the court catches ball, based on the rule regarding needing at least 0.4 on the clock to catch and shoot.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote