Don't be confused by 1 hand vs 2 hand. The ball is held and in control when the ball comes to rest even in one hand. Too many people, in too many situations, think that a firm two-handed grasp of the ball is the minimum to be considered holding the ball and in control. It is not.
If they are able to control the direction of the ball such that it goes in the basket, I'd call that control, even if brief. And, even if you don't consider it "controlled", the rulebook, as noted by Freddy, effectively treats it the same. It is really, more often than not, a brief catch.
|