Thread: Travel???
View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 28, 2013, 12:38pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
4.44.5 SITUATION D:

A1 secures possession of the ball with one knee in contact with the floor. May A1 assume a standing position without committing a traveling *violation?

RULING: It depends on what A1 does. If A1 attempts to stand up while holding the ball, a traveling violation occurs. However, if A1 starts a dribble and then rises, no violation has occurred. Also, A1 could pass, try for goal or call a time-out from that position.

This subject is an example of the FED setting a trap, and those who read only part of it, equating two different actions, in the verbiage they use:
Note that the SITUATION refers to a player with one knee on the floor, and uses the phrase "assume a standing position."
Then, in the RULING, they change the phrasiology from "assume a standing position" to "attempts to stand."
Not only is the first phrase - "assume a standing position" - commonly understood to mean "A position in which a person is erect, on both feet" - (Reference - Webster On-line Dictionary) - but the SITUATION stated dictates that from one knee, to "attempt to stand" inherently refers to standing on both feet.
Common understanding is that whether a person is on two knees or one, they are kneeling, not standing -(Reference - Webster On-line Dictionary). Thus, to go from a kneeling position on two knees, to a kneeling position on one knee, one is still kneeling, and not standing, and has not made an "attempt to stand."
All nice, but irrelevant. An attempt doesn't have to be successful to be considered an attempt so the fact they never make it to two feet doesn't matter.
Reply With Quote