Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes
Had both happen in back to back games with the same teams (soph. then JV). Had a player who had a displaced contact just before shooting FTs. She requested a TO to correct the situation and had it fixed easily within 30 seconds. My question is, how much time do they have to correct the situation on an uncharged timeout. Does it ever become a charged TO?
In the second game, thrower in-er A1 has the ball at their disposal. B1 requests to stop play so she can tie her shoe. I deny the request and allow play to continue. Varsity coach in the end of the bench is chiding me that "it's a liability for injury." "How come all the other officials stop play?" My reply was because they don't know the rules.
At the next dead ball, coach says, "Go ahead and tie your shoe." Partner sounds his whistle, puts his hand in the air and stands over her and politely watches as she ties her shoe. Coach sarcastically says "thank you!!!!!" In mind I am saying to my partner, "thanks for throwing me under the bus." We discussed it after and he claims he didn't hear any of the exchange beforehand even thought thee were only 50 people in the gym.
I am all for delaying putting the ball into play for a couple seconds for someone to tie their shoe but I wasn't about to blow it dead for the defensive team. Any other thoughts on how to handle this situation?
|
Issue was after a made basket.Clock running and player out of bound decide to tie shoe.I continue the 5 count the coach was totally upset and call time out.It is a live ball to stop the game will be advantage to his team,ithere is no rule and stopping the game other than injury or blood.Players need to be ready and double tie shoes.Laibility next they will tie shoes late in game cause team has no timeout.Partner was wrong and he need to know the rules