So, it looks like they have, once again, fundamentally changed a rule without calling it a rule change and without telling anyone.
The old rule:
Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
|
The new rule:
Quote:
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
|
The "or" changes everything.
Now, as the rule is written, with the "or" term, it now means:
1. That it is a violation simply for A to ever be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt, even if B knocked it there and even if it bounced first.
2. That it is a violation simply for A to ever be the last to touch the ball before it goes into the backcourt regardless of who touches in the backcourt....it is a violation as soon as it touches.
Did they really mean to change like that? I doubt it.