View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 18, 2013, 02:55am
Sharpshooternes Sharpshooternes is offline
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
2010-11 Interps:

SITUATION 5: Team A scores a field goal. A1 requests a time-out from the lead official at the exact same time that the head coach from Team B requests a time-out from the trail official. RULING: Both teams are charged a time-out. If both request a 30-second time-out, the time-out duration shall be 30 seconds. If one team requests a 60-second time-out and the other a 30, the duration shall be 60 seconds. Once a time-out is requested and granted, it shall not be revoked. (5-8-3b)

(In practice, I agree with your mentor, though.)
Bob, in this situation who are you going to charge if you are only going to charge one timeout? What is your thinking on this? sure I think in most situations, see and grant one before the other. But this is about as perfect as you can get for the case play to handle fairly IMO.
Reply With Quote