Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11
I think I understand and have seen the play you're talking about, and I think the biggest determination that needs to be made is whether or not the ball is at rest in his one hand prior to the slap move. If the ball isn't moving in relation to the hand, but the hand is on top of the ball the entire time, then I think this has to be considered still part of the dribble, and therefore not a travel yet. However, if his hand is on the side of the ball as you say, then you have to use some judgement. If his hand is underneath that thing at any time, then I think it would be a travel, in the same sense that had he dribbled again it would be a carry.
|
Players with big hands grab the ball all the time from the top; that's still "at rest." As I'm picturing Bainsey's play, I think it's a good call. The kid is trying to get an extra step with slight of hand. Now, I'd have to be sure that the ball was at rest in the one hand before calling this, but I think Bainsey has enough ball under his belt now to know when a player is holding the ball with one hand as opposed to dribbling.
It's a judgment call, and why we get paid so much money.