View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2013, 08:21pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bainsey View Post
So, here's a first for me:

MS-B. A-1 (a tall kid with sizeable hands) dribbles, gathers with one hand, pivots, slaps the ball into his other hand, then pivots again. He does this twice, and I have a travel both times.

Coach A insists that's not a travel. He teaches his kids to "slap the ball" (though he didn't do it again after the two travel calls). I didn't have time for a full explanation and/or clinic, but I inferred he thought the gather exists when the ball is firmly in both hands, thereby establishing the pivot foot, when in reality, a pivot foot can be established when holding the ball with one hand. And, in this case, the ball is firmly in one hand, typically on the side of the ball, before slapping it into the other.

Thoughts?
I agree.

By rule, once the ball comes to rest in one hand, the dribble has ended, the player is holding the ball, and the pivot foot is established or will be established soon depending on the specific position of the feet (but NOT depending on what they do with the ball).
Reply With Quote