Thread: Free Throw
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 16, 2013, 10:17am
PG_Ref PG_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PG County, MD
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by seohio View Post
This may be a stupid question or maybe one that has been here before.
The rule book says in 9-1-4 that free throw restrictions apply until the ball touches the ring or backboard. In the officials manual pg.25 C-6 says the trail observes the ball and notes if it contacts, goes through, or misses the ring. The question is, if it misses the ring but hits the backboard is the ball still in play for rebounding?
Just to add the specific rule reference ...

9-1
ART. 3

After the ball is placed at the disposal of a free thrower:

a. He/she shall throw within 10 seconds to cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the free throw ends.
__________________
You learn something new everyday ...
Reply With Quote