That's correct, Jurassic
There are a number of other references that make the point. I'll dig them out when I get a chance. The matter of a dribbler is somewhat more complicated, subject to some special rules, although, certainly, once guarding position has been obtained, the defender can jump to stay in front of the dribbler and need not have even one foot on the floor to have the 'right to land'. In all other cases, a player cannot move INTO somebody's landing spot - the player can sure as hell stay in place and, if the official is seeing far enough ahead of the action, get the call. The example I gave of what happens on an inbounds pass going from the baseline out beyond the arc is very common.
|