View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 13, 2003, 08:37am
Joe Joe is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 62
Re: Re: Re: Re: eroe, there is no requirement that a defender

"If the defender jumps into the path of the shooter"

I still think you are talking apples and oranges. There
was a good example that I posted a ways back. Van Exel,
Western Conference Finals, is *standing* a foot behind
the 3 point arc. He up fakes a shot, Jackson jumps at an
angle to a spot three feet inside of the arc. *After*
Jackson jumps Van Exel lunges across the arc, dips his
shoulder into Jackson's hip, throws up a "shot" which
misses by 15 feet.

A) Jackson is called for the foul
B) Van Exel is given three free throws even though
one foot was three feet inside the arc.
(BTW, it was a one point game)

I guess the question is: can the shooter jump or
lunge into the path of the airborne defender with
whom he would otherwise NOT make contact with?

My other question to NBA or WNBA officials was: is this
reviewable? I know they can go back and change a three to
a two, but how about the number of foul shots?


Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
You can't just jump in someone's way, have a collision and say, "Well, I jumped first". You need to re-think the paragraph you wrote above.
I think that you guys are still arguing apples/oranges. Unless I'm mistaken,Jeff is talking about a defender jumping first,BEFORE the shooter becomes airbone,and Chuck is talking about a defender jumping AFTER the shooter is airborne.
JR, my point is that I don't care who jumps first. It's irrelevant. Jeff's post sounds to me like he's saying if the defender jumped first then the defender can't be responsible for the contact. But that's just false. Who jumped first has nothing to do with who gets charged with the foul. If the defender jumps into the path of the shooter, whether the defender jumped first or not, the foul is charged to the defender, unless the defender has jumped within his/her vertical plane.
Reply With Quote