View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 14, 2013, 09:18am
Welpe Welpe is offline
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fan10 View Post
I must be missing something here, but I was always under the impression that a ball that breaks the plane is a touchback.
True in Federation, not true in NCAA.

In NCAA, a kick is a touchback when it touches the ground in the endzone and is untouched by Team B (Team R) before touching the ground.

If the ball is touched before hitting the ground in the endzone, it is a live ball and free to recover.

Quote:
I know that in NCAA, you can't do the play similar to the out of bounds in basketball where a kicking team player jumps and bats it back into the field. When that happens, it's ruled a TB since the ball broke the plane.
Are you talking about a punt where the kicking team is trying to keep it from going into the endzone? In NCAA, the position of the ball relative to where it is touched is key. The actual position of the player (as long as he is in bounds) has no bearing to what is ruled.

In this situation, if the ball is touched by the kicking team in the endzone, the kicking team is guilty of illegal touching. Since the ball is in the endzone, it will be placed at the B-20. Same result as a touchback but it is not a touchback.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote