Thread: LDB or not?
View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2013, 12:08pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
Lower Defensive Box (LDB)/Restricted Area (Rule 10-1.13).

Play 2: Player A2 is outside the LDB when she jumps into the air and receives the ball. When she receives the ball, she is over the LDB and then lands in the LDB.
Play 2 Ruling: Player A2 is in the LDB when she receives the ball because she is over the LDB when she catches it. Where she left the floor does not determine her position because she did not have the ball when she left the floor. The location of an airborne player in relation to the LDB is whether she is over the LDB when she receives the ball.
Most of us said that the player was in the LDB when she received the ball, so I don't think this NCAAW interp changes this discussion.

I am NOT surprised by the interp -- over = in for both the LDB and the RA.
Reply With Quote