Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul
I can't find a case on this, but I remember my association's interpreter giving a similar example when I went through training a couple years ago.
A1, outside the three point line attempts to throw the ball into the post. B1, also outside the 3 point line, deflects the pass and it goes into the basket. I'm 99% sure the instruction was "3 points" [FED rules]
Does the fact that the original pass was a throw in change the ruling?
|
The only way I would count 3 here is if the original pass was at such an angle as I couldn't tell if it had a chance to go in. If he's throwing a lob pass, then I'd be inclined to count it as three. If he's throwing a bounce pass and the initial trajectory is down (or even horizontal), I'd count it as 2.
On a throw in, I'd go 2 regardless.
Consider this play:
A1, in his backcourt, throws a pass towards A2, who is crossing into the FC. The pass is hits a) A2 or b) B2 (either is running outside the arc) in the head and caroms into the basket.
2 or 3?