The answer is...
Since I believe in getting the answer from the source – and I also don’t mind if I’m wrong  – here’s the interpretation NCAAM S-RE Art Hyland (I figured it didn’t make sense to go to my S-RE since Brittany Griner is now in the WNBA):
1. The shot clock would not be reset because the ball never left the shooter’s hand which is a requirement under Rule 9-12.2.
2. If the shooter maintained control of the ball when the attempt is blocked by the rim, it would be traveling if he then returned to the floor with the ball. See Rule 9-6.5. If he lost control, it would be a legal play.
He did say he liked my thinking so at least I get a gold star for that
__________________
"Everyone has a purpose in life, even if it's only to serve as a bad example."
"If Opportunity knocks and he's not home, Opportunity waits..."
"Don't you have to be stupid somewhere else?" "Not until 4."
"The NCAA created this mess, so let them live with it." (JRutledge)
|