
Wed Oct 30, 2013, 04:40pm
|
Administrator
|
|
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac
Some of the possible confusion surrounding this question, especially among old timers, may have to bring us for a long walk down memory lane.
About thirty years ago, the NFHS differentiated between a tap, and a try. If a player was fouled in the act of a try, the basket, if good, counted, and the player received one, or two, (no three point line back then) free throws, depending on if the ball went in the basket, or not.
A tap was handled in a completely different manner. If a player was fouled in the act of a tap, the basket wouldn't count if it went in. If the fouled player's team was in the bonus, he was awarded one and one (no double bonus back then), if not, his team got the ball for a throwin at the spot closest to the foul.
I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to confirm, or deny, my statements.
|
In the ancient days when officials were not fashion police, the AP did not exist the definition, there were only 29 Sections in Rule 4, not the 47 we have now, we had a Lack of Sufficient Action rule, and the Front Court was divided into a Mid-Court and a Fore-Court:
The definition of a Try did not include a Tap. Tapping the ball toward one's goal was not a Try. If A1 was fouled by B1 while his hand was in contact with the ball while tapping the ball toward his goal the ball became dead immediately and B1 was charged with a Common Foul. I think that this is some of the Ancient Knowledge that ball wanted me to impart upon our brethern here in this august Forum.
MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|