Apologies in advance if this has been dealt with many times over..but it would help greatly to get real clarity on tips and back court once and for all
Situation #1:
A1 makes a throw-in near the division line in Team A Backcourt..A2 standing in front court. B1 tips the throw in immediately before anyone else touches the ball...
1a) IF A2 leaps from frontcourt catches ball IN THE AIR and lands in backcourt.
1b) Same deal but this time the tip by B1 causes ball to hit the floor in backcourt and A2 retrives the ball.
Question: Our both these plays BC Violations? Does the fact that ball hits the floor first before recovery vs a catch in the air making ruling different?
Thanks!