Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes
4.19.6 SITUATION A:
B1 obtains a legal position in A1's path before A1 becomes airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. (a) Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference.
RULING: In (a), both the violation and the foul are penalized. The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score.
Why is the PC foul still charged if it happens after the ball becomes dead? It isn't intentional or flagrant and I thought you couldn't have a common foul during a dead ball.
|
Because an airborne shooter is liable for any contact they create until they land, even if the ball is dead....just as the defense is liable for contact they create with an airborne shooter until they land. The status of the ball is not important for fouls involving an airborne shooter. Once they land, then it has to be more than common to be called.