Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
Good point, I made an assumption. Now that you ask, I confess I don't know.
|
I
believe they do. I wasn't certain either so this is what I've found....
Rule 4...
Section 1. Airborne Shooter
Art. 2. An airborne shooter is a player who has released the ball on a try for goal until that player has returned to the floor.
Section 73. Try for Goal/Act of Shooting
Art. 7. An airborne shooter, who is fouled by an opponent, while in the air but
after the ball is released shall be considered to be in the act of shooting until that airborne player returns to the floor.
As far as what the foul is, it isn't so explicit but I think it is buried as an exception in the fragrant 2 rule...
f. Flagrant 2 technical foul. A flagrant 2 technical foul can be either contact
or noncontact.
1. A flagrant 2 contact technical foul occurs when the ball is dead and the contact is not only excessive, but also severe or extreme.
a. An exception may be a foul committed by an airborne shooter.
I think this is where they are trying to say that an airborne shooter can commit a contact foul during a dead ball without it being considered flagrant. The NCAA wording is pretty sloppy here but I can't believe that they want a foul on an airborne shooter to be forced to be flagrant or nothing just because the ball has gone through the hoop before the shooter (dunker) lands.