Quote:
Originally Posted by habram
My Question in reference to this situation.
If the shooter was fouled , would the team receive 5 shots
3 for being fouled on a 3pt shot and 2 for the technical
|
*NFHS 4-1-1 says a personal foul is
a player foul...
*4-19-5a says a technical foul is "
a foul by a nonplayer."
*4-34-1 says a player is
one of five team members who are legally on the court at any given time, except intermission so the rule book deals with why you can’t award three shots for the single foul in this situation. The penalty for a technical foul is two shots and the ball at the division line. The ruling in the case play deals with the inequity: two technicals.
Interestingly, by rule you can’t call a flagrant foul – meaning you wouldn’t be able to kick out the player on just one call – since NFHS defines those as
“a personal or technical foul of a violent or savage nature, or a technical noncontact foul which displays unacceptable conduct.” The OP doesn’t sound violent and it also involves a contact foul. It can, however, be intentional.