Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam
It's harder to justify granting four shots for one foul than to justify two technical fouls. It's a special situation that requires some special thinking. Short of awarding the three point goal, there's not much else you can do. Whether you give the 2nd T to the same player, or to the coach for failing to control his bench, both would require the same stretch.
|
Hmmm...I think you're onto something here.
There is a case for awarding a shot that is blocked when there should be no chance at blocking the ball....a FT. And that is a T on the player.
I think the GT rule
could , with some mental gymnastics, be extended to cover this situation...and call a T just for good measure. For that matter, they could expand GT to cover any shot touched by a team member who is not a player. That would solve this forever.